

Engagement Scholarship Consortium Announces Nominations for Excellence Awards Program

For Immediate Release January 15, 2019

The Engagement Scholarship Consortium (ESC) — the premier resource for higher education institutions and community partners focused on promoting excellence in the scholarship and practice of engaged scholarship locally and globally — is accepting nominations for its 2019 Excellence Awards Program, which recognizes exemplary engagement scholarship. Nominations are being accepted through March 1, 2019. For more information on nomination procedures and how to submit a nomination, go to http://bit.ly/ESCAWARDSPROGRAM2019.

Award recipients will be recognized during the 2019 Annual Conference in Denver, Colorado. A key priority of ESC 20/20 – Vision. Focus. Impact., the awards program provides institutional recognition in five categories: Student, Faculty, Community Partner, Distinguished Engaged Scholar, and Institutional Leadership. All two- and four-year public and private higher education institutions are eligible and are invited to submit nominations. Institutional award recipients will receive a cash award, certificate, two registration fee waivers for the 2019 ESC Annual Conference and will be invited to participate in an Excellence Awards Recipients Panel Presentation during the 2019 conference.

ESC Board President Samory T. Pruitt, vice president for community affairs at The University of Alabama, underscored the importance of the highly competitive program. "These awards recognize the best engagement scholarship has to offer. Each year we know these submissions will include many innovative and practical solutions to some of the most critical problems facing our nation and world today," Pruitt said.

The ESC Excellence Awards Program recognizes activities that improve the quality of life for individuals, families and communities while building capacity through community engagement scholarship. The program also provides important recognition opportunities for students, faculty, community partners and higher education institutions and increases opportunities for enhanced peer learning.

Contacts: Melissa Maybury Lubin, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Awards Committee chair and dean of outreach and engagement, James Madison University, 540-568-4253, lubin2mm@jmu.edu and Susan E. Short, Engagement Scholarship Consortium Executive Committee liaison and associate vice president for engagement, Virginia Tech, 540-231-9497, sshort@vt.edu.

